Report a Fault: (08) 8586 6050Annual General Meeting on 2/12/2019

Our Board

Peter Duggin

Presiding Member

Peter was born in Renmark, growing up on a mixed fruit property and started his career working at a local winery. After spending some time overseas and working and studying in Adelaide (completing a Diploma of Visual and applied arts), Peter returned to Renmark and owns a vineyard and until recently an almond orchard he developed.

During the Millennium drought, Peter led the Trust through a very difficult period, culminating in significant milestones, including a $16.3m re-configuration through the SARMS 3IP as well as the Trust receiving Gold level certification from the Alliance for Water Stewardship, the first irrigation organisation globally to do so. 

Peter has also been instrumental in the modernisation and repositioning of the Trust as a “go to” organisation for State and Federal government agencies on all matters water, irrigation and community. Peter is vitally interested in the financial viability and future of the Riverland, economically and socially.

Peter is a director of the SA MDB NRM Board, Chair of the River Murray Advisory Committee (RMAC), Deputy Chair, Riverland Vine Improvement Committee and Chairs the Chowilla and Katarapko Community Advisory Panels (KCAP).

Peter is currently the second longest serving Presiding Member in the RIT’s proud 125 year history after being elected Chairman of the RIT in 2007.

Humphrey Howie

Deputy Presiding Member

Humphrey is the proprietor of an organic citrus-growing and packing enterprise, and has a degree in Agricultural Science and a Diploma in Permaculture Design.

Humphrey’s family business has been growing fruit on the same land for over 100 years. The orchard began converting to organic management in 1994 and is certified organic with NASAA (National Association of Sustainable Agriculture Australia).

Humphrey has been involved with a range of NRM organisations and is currently a member of the Bookmark Creek Action Group, the Renmark Paringa Coucil Landcare Committee and is the current Chair of the Renmark Environmental Watering Committee.

Humphrey has been on the Trust Board since 1998, and was elected Deputy Presiding Member in 2008.

Kate Strachan

Assistant Deputy Presiding Member

Kate is a fifth generation fruit grower in Renmark.

Kate is a Viticulturist, beginning with Southcorp in the Barossa Valley and the Riverland, then at Taylors Wines and Knappstein Wines in the Clare Valley. Kate has over 27 years of experience in the winegrape growing industry. In 2013 she returned to the family fruit property to grow figs, pomegranates and winegrapes.

Kate has expertise in the technical aspects of viticulture, horticulture, logistics, procurement and project management, and is also an Agricultural Educator, believing that education at all levels is the key to the long term social, economic and environmental sustainability of our agricultural sector.

Kate was elected to the Trust Board in 2013, and was elected Assistant Deputy Presiding Member in 2019.

James Butler


James is a grower with irrigation properties within the Renmark and Chaffey districts.

James has been a Director of the Renmark Irrigation Trust since 2012 and also currently sits on the South Australian Murray Irrigators (SAMI) Committee and the Bookmark Creek Action Group.

Ibrahim Demir


Ibrahim’s family migrated to Australia from Turkey in 1970, settling in Sydney before moving to Renmark in 1977.

Ibrahim has been involved in fruit growing in Renmark since 1980, being involved in all aspects of the operation and production of produce.

Ibrahim was elected to the Trust Board in 2003.

David Ludas


David’s involvement with the Wine Industry spans over 40 years. David, together with his wife and son, manages 50 hectares of vineyard in Renmark North.

David has seen and experienced major changes in irrigation infrastructure, management, and water policy.

David is passionate and committed to representing RIT members and the district to ensure their water entitlements are being supplied.

David also sits on the South Australian Murray Irrigators (SAMI) Committee and the River Murray Advisory Committee (RMAC).

David was elected to the Trust Board in 2007.

Jim Markeas


Jim manages the Mallee Estate Winery, producing all wines onsite. Under Jim’s management, Mallee Estate Wines, initially established in 1998, has expanding export markets in China, Hong Kong and the USA.

In 2015 Jim was awarded Riverland Winemaker of the Year.

Jim was elected to the Trust Board in 2016.